All exploration in Queensland must be conducted under the authority of the Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy. Exploration and production licences are granted under the Mineral Resources Act 1989, Mineral and Energy Resources (Common Provisions) Act 2014, Petroleum and Gas (Production and Safety) Act 2004 and Geothermal Energy Act 2010 allowing licence holders to explore and mine certain minerals, coal and gas on limited areas of land.